How Gov Kefas Commissions Eye Hospital In Southern Taraba

By Sani Yarima

The Daisy Danjuma Eye Hospital in Takum was officially commissioned on Friday by Taraba State Governor, Agbu Kefas. 

During the ceremony, Governor Kefas expressed his appreciation to Retired General TY Danjuma for his developmental initiatives in the state. 

He commended Danjuma’s contributions, highlighting the significance of Senator Daisy Danjuma Eye Hospital Takum in the state’s progress.

Governor Kefas while appreciating the generosity of the General, also lauded the staff of the hospital for their effort and prayed to God to bless them, as well as assured his administration’s commitment toward providing the dividend of democracy to the people of the state. 

In his remarks, General TY Danjuma underscored the importance of peaceful coexistence in Taraba State, as it attracts investors. 

He also championed the need for infrastructural improvement, ICT training, and attitudinal change to drive progress in the state.

Mr. Joshua Campeneer, the Country Director of Development Africa, expounded on the hospital’s role as an extension of the TY Danjuma Foundation’s medical center. 

He noted that the hospital has been providing highly subsidized rates for the past three months and would offer eye surgeries, eyeglass provision, and other related services.

Dr. Oten Okolo, the National Coordinator of the National Eye Health Programmes, commended the Senator Daisy Danjuma Eye Hospital as a beacon of hope for those in need of eye services, expressing his delight at its establishment.

Dr. Ugo Okoli, a Trustee of the TY Danjuma Foundation, stressed that the hospital will provide cutting-edge eye care services, highlighting the foundation’s impactful work nationwide.

The commissioning ceremony was attended by Deputy Governor Aminu Alkali, the Chairman of Middle Belt Forum, General Zamani Lekwot (Rtd), the former Executive Secretary of TETFUND, Prof. Suleiman Bogoro, members of the National Assembly, Members of the State House of Assembly, and Commissioners. 

Others in attendance were chairpersons of the 16 local government areas and first-class chiefs led by the Aku Uka of Wukari and Chairman of the Taraba State Traditional Council of Chiefs, Manu Ishaku Adda Ali (Matakitswen I) among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *